Earn Money by Blogging? Ridiculous?

I’ve been doing the rounds for some time now, telling my friends and some acquaintances that you can, indeed, earn money by just blogging.

I’ve gotten quite a number of incredulous expressions. I’ve also gotten some nods of approval.

The featured blog in the article I CAN HAS CHEEZBURGER is a top blog site running on WordPress.  You can always see it on the list when you log in to your WordPress Dashboard.  This site was just started January of 2007!  You can see the site’s performance statistics in the link to the article below.  Now that I am writing about this blog site, I am potentially sending more traffic to the blogger’s site (hope I can get that commission as a referror… and that’s possible!).  I wonder if the cat gets some form of reward for this?  I bet tons of cheeseburger for breakfast, lunch, and dinner….

The proof of the pudding is in the tasting (did I get that right?).  Check out this article from BusinessWeek.

Weehoo! From a mere obsession or a hobby to a genuine source of income.

2 responses to “Earn Money by Blogging? Ridiculous?

  1. I just saw the blog and i guess i am not so sure what makes it special?? i have been thrown for a loop because its mainly images and useless information… did you see the page rank? now what makes that blog so special? not sure but i personally thought it was lame
    Rambling Jenn

  2. Hi, Jenn! Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment.

    Specific individuals derive value from I Can Has Cheezburger. To some the same site doesn’t have any value at all. I guess, if we find that this site is quite useless, then we can say that we don’t belong to the target market of the site publishers.

    I believe this is what the internet gives us — a space wherein all types of information and content or what-have-you can be generated and posted, and eventually gets viewed and patronized at any given time.

    This is, in fact, good news for us. That is, we can create very specific sets of content or very narrow niches and still be profitable (for those who intend to earn money while blogging).

    Again, thanks for the comment, and keep ’em coming! 🙂

Leave a Reply

