Greatest US Film of All Time

The Greatest US Film of All Time as voted for by the American Film Institute is…. CITIZEN KANE by Orson Welles.

Sad thing is… I’ve never seen the movie.  Only snippets of the masterpiece.  I’ve been trying to get hold of a copy for my private collection, but haven’t been able to for the past 10 years.  I’ll gladly settle for a VCD copy if there was one available (right now!).

I also have a lot of catching up to do as I only have 3 out of the top 10 in my collection (i.e. The Godfather, Gone With the Wind, Schindler’s List).  Woe is me…

4 responses to “Greatest US Film of All Time

  1. what are the other seven films?

  2. Here is the Top 10 List, Gary:

    1 Citizen Kane (1941)
    2 The Godfather (1972)
    3 Casablanca (1942)
    4 Raging Bull (1980)
    5 Singin’ In The Rain (1952)
    6 Gone With The Wind (1939)
    7 Lawrence of Arabia (1962)
    8 Schindler’s List (1993)
    9 Vertigo (1958)
    10 Wizard of Oz (1939 – pictured)
    Source: American Film Institute

  3. wow schindlers list made that list?

    Anyway ive watched everything except c. kane. Galing ni R. de Niro ha. Two of those films andun siya. And I’d add Death of a Salesman and Streetcar Named Desire pero I think they qualify more as plays.

    Watch Raging Bull pre. Amazing.

  4. the innocent man

    I only saw 3 of the top 10. yung Wizard of Oz, nachambahan ko lang sa Turner Classics. Ganda ni Judy Garland, hehe.

    I wish I could see the movie “Old Yeller” again. I only remember the ending.

Leave a Reply

