An Entertaining and Very Helpful Read About Why You Should NOT Start a Business

Here we go again, Guys…

I don’t want to be a Marc Andreessen linkblog, but I am just thoroughly enjoying his posts! (Advice: if you are regularly reading my Blog, I suggest you put http://blog.pmarca.com in your blogroll for I’ll be linking him a lot! Hehehe…)

This new post of his really got me. Couldn’t stop laughing (especially at number 2). Man, I am still wiping away tears of laughter…

Haaay…. Anyway…

This guide (1st of a multi-part post) is for those who would wish to start a business, be their own boss, manage their own time, etc. Or rather, Part 1 is, actually, intended for those who are still on the fence, sitting, and thinking of whether or not to start a business, be their own boss, manage their own time, etc.

I am sure we’ll achieve some filtering here. For those who’d like to continue reading the next installments of the guide, you can go check Mr. Marc Andreessen’s blog (you can click on the link there —-> click on the link on my Blogroll).

6 responses to “An Entertaining and Very Helpful Read About Why You Should NOT Start a Business

  1. While Marc spoke about the negatives associated with start-up, the fact is he voted otherwise – three times!!
    This means, as I read it, entrepreneurs think in terms of positives and have an inate belief that no matter what the obstacles they will prevail. The true entrepreneur sees negatives simply as obstacles to be overcome, not barriers to entry.

  2. Hi, Frank. Most definitely agree with you… that the real entrepreneurs will tough it out against the hurdles and continue plugging away in spite of the obstacles.

    I belong to this lot. We foresaw that it was not going to be a stroll in the park, but a hard, most arduous mountain climb. Still, we pressed on.

    Now that I’m part of a startup, I was able to relate to Marc’s post.. especially the 2nd point he raised. 🙂

  3. I really intended my Title for this post to be as it is. Reason being (as I am an Entrepreneur myself) that I know that those who are determined to put up their own businesses will work very hard to overcome the aforementioned barriers to entry into entrepreneurship.

  4. That was definitely entertaining. We are still in the start-up phase, and I am still learning to hold on to my sanity. Nice to know I’m not the only one.

  5. Pingback: Business Lessons « A Designer’s Eye

  6. Glad you found the link, “A Designer’s Eye”! More power to your business!

Leave a Reply

